Tuesday, February 23, 2010

And Now For Some More Disappointing News...

For the second straight year the Asia Series has been cancelled. Known as the Konami Cup until 2007, the Asia series is (was?) an end of season baseball tournament that features the champions of Taiwan, Japan, Korea, and China. The games were held at the Tokyo Dome from 2005-2008 with the Japanese champion winning all four contests. Last season there was an abridged version of the competition in Korea that featured only the Korean and Japanese champs. The NPB's Yomiuri Giants defeated the KPO's Kia Tigers 9-4.

Representatives from each of the nations (except China) had been in talks recently of a possible series revival for 2010, but an agreement couldn't be reached due to prior scheduling conflicts. There seems to be a tentative agreement to resume the competition in 2011 with Taiwan slated to be the hosts.

Personally I'd love to see the Asia Series come to Taiwan.

And I hope the CPBL is still around in 2011 to send a team.

No comments:

Post a Comment